it’s not us Album Details

Umphrey’s McGee entered I.V. Labs Studio in Chicago in November of 2016 to record what would become the band’s eleventh full-length studio album. The result was it’s not us, the most vibrant, mature expression of the band’s growing studio prowess to date. “We decided to go in for a week, live, eat, and breathe Umphrey’s McGee,” recalls Joel, “we’re known as a strong live band, but we take so much pride in our writing. [In this album] the focus is on that writing.”

The first single “The Silent Type” is powered by a bombastic beat, funkified rhythms, fiery fretwork, and a chantable refrain, introducing it’s not us with a bright and brilliant bang. “Half Delayed” builds from airy guitar into an iridescent refrain, meanwhile, the bass strut anthemic beat production and percussive wallop of “Looks” could be the love child of Nine Inch Nails and Talking Heads. The metallic shredfest outro of “Remind Me” bleeds effortlessly into the gorgeous acoustic love song “You & You Alone.”

it’s not us drops January 12th and is now available for pre-order in all shapes and sizes including download, CD, LP and the most robust deluxe package UM has ever created. Housed inside a leather bound book, the deluxe includes double 180 gram LPs (with an Augmented Reality component), CD, download, bonus 7″ EP featuring two unreleased tracks, a 72-page color coffee table book, and more. All pre-orders come with an immediate download of the first single, “The Silent Type.” Head over to UM Merch for more thorough details about the various offerings.

To commemorate the release with appropriate revelry, Umphrey’s McGee cordially invites you to attend the official album release party on January 14th, 2018. UM returns to the Park West for the first time in almost five years for an evening centered around an intimate, storytellers-style performance. The band will share stories about the album’s conception, creative process, songwriting, and more as they debut tracks from it’s not us (while sprinkling in other songs). Following the performance, the album will play over the PA as the band mingles and Jefferson Waful accompanies the album from front to back with a custom light show.

Every ticket to release party includes the Deluxe Version of it’s not us, as well as a download of the album upon release day. To retain intimacy, only 750 tickets will be sold. Tickets are on sale now through Umphrey’s Ticketing.

it’s not us is Umphrey’s McGee at its peak prowess, creating music with both precision and emotional content 20 years into a career. “We’re not going anywhere,” says Brendan Bayliss. “We’re starting to find our identity. I think if you give it a chance, you’ll be pleasantly surprised.”

(click to preorder)

Track List

1 The Silent Type 3:30
2 Looks 3:05
3 Whistle Kids 3:36
4 Half Delayed 3:36
5 Maybe Someday 6:36
6 Remind Me 7:37
7 You & You Alone 3:59
8 Forks 4:28
9 Speak Up* 6:05
10 Piranhas 4:20
11 Dark Brush 6:04

* featuring Joshua Redman